For most buyers, the Kasa Matter Smart Plug KP125M is the strongest all-around choice, combining energy monitoring with Matter support and a 15A rating. The Shelly Smart Plug US Gen4 stands out for households that want several connection options, while the TP-Link Tapo P115 four-pack suits buyers outfitting multiple outlets. The main tradeoffs are ecosystem compatibility, how many plugs you need, and whether broader connectivity matters more than a simple setup. Pack size alone does not tell you which plug offers the right monitoring or control for your home. Read on for the full comparison and recommendations by buyer type.
Get home appliances delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The Kasa KP125M earns the overall lead by pairing 15A capacity and energy monitoring with Matter support, which can ease cross-platform smart-home setup.
- Shelly Gen4 is the connectivity specialist: Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, and Matter offer more integration paths, though that flexibility may be unnecessary for a basic plug.
- The Tapo P115 appears in both two-pack and four-pack listings, making pack size a practical distinction for buyers planning how many outlets to monitor.
- The Eve Energy Outlet is the premium-oriented option in this lineup, while the Tapo and Govee multi-packs provide more plugs per purchase for broader coverage.
- The generic Wi-Fi and AiSeek four-packs are worth comparing for straightforward multi-outlet use, but buyers should weigh their ecosystem needs against the named Matter and multi-protocol alternatives.
| Smart Plug Outlet with Energy Monitoring, 15A Wi-Fi, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Straightforward Multi-Room Monitoring | Pack size: 4 plugs | Maximum current: 15A | Maximum power: 1800W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| AiSeek Pro Energy Monitoring Smart Plug, 15A, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Detailed Electrical Readings | Pack size: 4 plugs | Maximum load: 1800W | Operating voltage: 120V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring (KP125M), 15A/1800W | ![]() | Best for Matter Smart Homes | Model: KP125MP4 | Maximum load: 15A / 1800W | Connectivity: Matter over Wi-Fi | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Shelly Smart Plug US Gen4 with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, and Matter | ![]() | Best for Connectivity Flexibility | Plug type: Type B, 3-pin North American | Amperage: 15A | Wattage: 1800W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Long-Term Energy History | Pack size: 4 plugs | Connectivity: Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | Wi-Fi compatibility: Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| TP-Link Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15A | ![]() | Best for a Two-Room Setup | Model: P115 | Pack size: 2 plugs | Maximum current: 15A | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eve Energy Outlet (Matter) Smart Outlet and Power Meter | ![]() | Best for Local, Privacy-Focused Control | Outlets: 2 individually controllable power outlets | Connectivity: Matter, Thread | Power monitoring: Yes | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| TP-Link Tapo P115 Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Monitoring Multiple Rooms | Model: P115 | Quantity: 4 plugs | Maximum current: 15A | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tapo Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 4-Pack (P110M) | ![]() | Best Matter Four-Pack | Model: P110M | Pack size: 4 plugs | Connectivity standard: Matter | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| smart plugs with energy monitoring | Energy monitoring | Voice assistants | Connectivity | Pack size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smart Plug Outlet with Energy | Real-time power and energy tracking | Alexa and Google Assistant | — | 4 plugs |
| AiSeek Pro Energy Monitoring S | — | — | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | 4 plugs |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Yes | Siri, Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and Samsung SmartThings | Matter over Wi-Fi | — |
| Shelly Smart Plug US Gen4 with | Real-time power monitoring | — | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, and Matter | — |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy M | — | Alexa and Google Assistant | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | 4 plugs |
| TP-Link Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi | Yes; statistics and charts | Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant | Wi-Fi | 2 plugs |
| Eve Energy Outlet | — | — | Matter, Thread | — |
| TP-Link Tapo P115 Smart Plug w | Yes; statistics and charts | Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant | — | — |
| Tapo Matter Smart Plug with En | Yes | Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant | — | 4 plugs |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Smart Plug Outlet with Energy Monitoring, 15A Wi-Fi, 4-Pack
This four-pack makes it easy to track several appliances without choosing a more elaborate smart home setup. Its real-time energy monitoring, schedules, timers, and group control all run through the SmartLife app, and Alexa and Google Assistant support adds convenient voice control after linking the account. Compared with the AiSeek Pro Energy Monitoring Smart Plug, it offers a similar 15A, 1800W capacity and app-based approach, while the AiSeek listing specifies voltage and current readings. Overload and short-circuit protection, plus a compact design, help this set fit everyday use. The tradeoff is its 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi requirement; buyers also need to link SmartLife before using voice assistants. Choose it for practical, multi-room tracking rather than detailed electrical readings.
Pros:- Four plugs let buyers monitor appliances in multiple rooms
- Tracks real-time power and energy use
- Schedules, timers, and group control simplify routine automation
- Compact design with overload and short-circuit protection
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network
- Alexa and Google Assistant require linking through SmartLife
- Listing does not specify voltage and current monitoring
Best for: Households that want to monitor several everyday appliances and manage them together through SmartLife
Not ideal for: Buyers who need voltage and current readings or whose home Wi-Fi setup does not support 2.4 GHz connections
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum current:15A
- Maximum power:1800W
- Wi-Fi:2.4 GHz
- Energy monitoring:Real-time power and energy tracking
- App:SmartLife
- Voice assistants:Alexa and Google Assistant
- Safety:Overload and short-circuit protection; fire-resistant materials
- Certification:FCC
Our verdict“Choose this set for straightforward energy tracking and group control across several rooms, provided SmartLife and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi suit your setup.”
AiSeek Pro Energy Monitoring Smart Plug, 15A, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4-Pack
The AiSeek Pro stands out in this group for tracking power, voltage, current, and energy use, giving curious owners more context than a basic consumption readout. That detail can help distinguish an appliance’s immediate draw from its accumulated use. Like the Smart Plug Outlet with Energy Monitoring, 15A Wi-Fi, 4-Pack, AiSeek supplies four 15A plugs with schedules and timers; its listing adds push-button control and Bluetooth alongside Wi-Fi. It also works with Tuya or Smart Life and supports Alexa and Assistant voice control. The main limitation is that it still depends on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for network features, and the product data does not describe long-term history storage. This is the better fit for buyers who want more electrical readings, while Govee specifies energy history lasting up to one year.
Pros:- Monitors power, voltage, current, and energy use
- Four-pack supports monitoring in multiple locations
- Offers app, push-button, remote, and voice control
- Includes schedules, countdown timers, and overload protection
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection
- Product data does not specify how long energy history is stored
Best for: Appliance owners who want to compare power, voltage, and current readings alongside energy consumption
Not ideal for: Buyers who need documented year-long energy history or cannot connect devices to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum load:1800W
- Operating voltage:120V
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Wi-Fi requirement:2.4 GHz
- Energy readings:Power, voltage, current, and energy use
- App compatibility:Tuya and Smart Life
- Control methods:App, push button, and voice
- Certifications:ETL listed and FCC certified
Our verdict“Pick AiSeek Pro if voltage and current readings matter more to you than documented long-term energy history.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring (KP125M), 15A/1800W
For a home already built around Matter-compatible devices, this Kasa plug pairs energy monitoring with support for Siri, Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings. Its local network control can keep compatible commands working when the internet is offline, which gives it a different appeal from the Smart Plug Outlet with Energy Monitoring, whose listing centers on SmartLife and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. The compact, UL-certified flame-retardant design also helps when outlet space is tight. The catch is that Matter features depend on compatible platforms and devices, so this plug is less straightforward for someone who just wants a standalone app and voice setup. Compared with Shelly’s Gen4 model, Kasa lists a narrower connection approach but has a clear Matter focus and a two-year limited warranty.
Pros:- Matter support spans several major smart home platforms
- Local network control can work when internet access is offline
- Monitors energy use over time
- Compact, UL-certified flame-retardant design
Cons:- Smart home features depend on compatible Matter platforms and devices
- Product data does not specify supported energy readings beyond usage monitoring
Best for: Matter smart home owners who want energy monitoring with broad voice assistant and platform support
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a simple standalone setup without compatible Matter platforms or devices
- Model:KP125MP4
- Maximum load:15A / 1800W
- Connectivity:Matter over Wi-Fi
- Energy monitoring:Yes
- Voice assistants:Siri, Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and Samsung SmartThings
- Local control:Supported when internet is offline
- Safety design:UL-certified flame-retardant design
- Warranty:2-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose the Kasa KP125M when Matter compatibility and local control matter more than a simple app-only setup.”
Shelly Smart Plug US Gen4 with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, and Matter
Shelly Gen4 is the most flexible connection choice here: it supports Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, and Matter, plus HomeKit, Google Home, Alexa, and Home Assistant. Its real-time power monitoring shares the lineup’s core function, while schedules, timers, remote control, and notifications add ways to act on energy use. Compared with the Kasa Matter Smart Plug KP125M, Shelly adds Zigbee and Bluetooth to its listed connectivity; Kasa instead emphasizes local network control when internet is offline. A socket cover and UL certification are useful practical touches, and its three-year warranty is longer than Kasa’s listed warranty. The tradeoffs are a single outlet and plastic construction. This plug suits buyers who value integration choices over buying a multi-pack like Govee or AiSeek.
Pros:- Supports Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, and Matter
- Real-time power monitoring with schedules, timers, remote control, and notifications
- Works with HomeKit, Google Home, Alexa, and Home Assistant
- UL-certified with a protective socket cover and three-year warranty
Cons:- Provides only one power outlet
- Plastic construction
- Product data does not specify historical energy storage duration
Best for: Smart home owners who want one energy-monitoring plug that fits a mix of Matter, Zigbee, and Wi-Fi setups
Not ideal for: Buyers furnishing several rooms at once or seeking a multi-outlet plug with a non-plastic build
- Plug type:Type B, 3-pin North American
- Amperage:15A
- Wattage:1800W
- Outlets:1
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, and Matter
- Energy monitoring:Real-time power monitoring
- Smart home compatibility:HomeKit, Google Home, Alexa, and Home Assistant
- Certifications:UL and RoHS
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Pick Shelly Gen4 for broad smart home connectivity in a single outlet, rather than for covering multiple appliances.”
Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4-Pack
Govee is the clearest pick for buyers who want to look back at how an appliance’s use changes: its app keeps energy history for up to one year and shows real-time power, current, and voltage. That makes it more useful for tracking patterns than the AiSeek Pro Energy Monitoring Smart Plug, whose listing covers several live electrical readings but does not specify history length. Four plugs, remote and voice control, schedules, and group control make the set practical across rooms. Govee supports Alexa and Google Assistant and connects through Wi-Fi and Bluetooth. The main limitation is its 2.4 GHz-only Wi-Fi compatibility, so it is a poor fit if your network setup lacks that band. Choose Govee for historical visibility; choose Kasa if Matter and local offline control are higher priorities.
Pros:- Stores energy history for up to one year
- Tracks real-time power, current, and voltage
- Four-pack supports monitoring across multiple appliances
- Offers remote, voice, scheduled, and group control
Cons:- Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- Listed voice assistant support is limited to Alexa and Google Assistant
Best for: Households that want to review energy patterns over time across several appliances
Not ideal for: Buyers whose Wi-Fi setup only offers 5 GHz or who prioritize Matter-based local control
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Wi-Fi compatibility:Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- Energy readings:Power, current, and voltage
- Energy history:Up to 1 year
- Voice assistants:Alexa and Google Assistant
- Certifications:ETL and FCC
Our verdict“Choose Govee if year-long energy history is your priority and your network supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.”
TP-Link Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15A
The Tapo P115 two-pack suits buyers who want energy tracking for a couple of appliances without committing to a larger set. Its usage statistics and charts can help identify which device is drawing power, while schedules and remote app control make everyday routines easier to manage. Compared with the Tapo P115 four-pack, this bundle is a better fit for a focused setup; both share the 15A rating, Tapo app, and Alexa and Google Assistant support. The tradeoff is Wi-Fi and app dependence, which may not suit someone building a hub-centered smart home. Overload shutoff and configurable smart charging add power management, though bill cost estimates depend on billing-system integration. Choose it for a small monitoring project; skip it if you need Matter compatibility or local platform control.
Pros:- Energy statistics and charts help compare connected devices’ consumption
- Two-plug bundle fits a small, targeted setup
- Supports scheduling, remote app control, Alexa, and Google Assistant
- Includes overload shutoff and configurable smart charging
Cons:- Remote control depends on Wi-Fi and the Tapo app
- Energy bill cost visualization depends on billing-system integration
Best for: Households monitoring two specific appliances, such as a dehumidifier and an entertainment setup, through Alexa or Google Assistant
Not ideal for: Smart home owners who want Matter integration or monitoring across several rooms from one purchase
- Model:P115
- Pack size:2 plugs
- Maximum current:15A
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi
- Energy monitoring:Yes; statistics and charts
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Control app:Tapo
- Power management:Overload protection and configurable smart charging
Our verdict“Pick this two-pack to monitor a couple of appliances with Tapo, Alexa, or Google Assistant, but choose the four-pack for broader coverage.”
Eve Energy Outlet (Matter) Smart Outlet and Power Meter
The Eve Energy Outlet stands apart from the Tapo P115 plugs by pairing two independently controlled outlets with Matter, Thread, and local operation. That combination makes it a stronger match for someone who values platform flexibility and does not want an Eve cloud account or tracking tied to control. Its power monitoring can help identify consumption at each connected outlet, while presence-based automation can trigger lights or appliances. The tradeoff is setup: a compatible hub is required for the chosen platform, and the device needs a supported iOS or Android version. Compared with the Tapo Matter P110M four-pack, Eve offers two outlets in one unit and an explicit privacy focus, but covers fewer locations. Choose it for a hub-based setup where local control matters; skip it if you want a simple Wi-Fi plug without extra hardware.
Pros:- Two outlets can be controlled independently
- Matter and Thread support connect it with major smart home platforms
- Local operation avoids an Eve cloud account, registration, and tracking
- UL-certified
Cons:- Requires a compatible hub for the selected platform
- Supported device software is required: iOS/iPadOS 16.4 or later or Android 8.1 or later
- Two outlets in one unit provide less room coverage than a four-pack
Best for: Smart home owners with a compatible hub who want independently controlled, energy-monitored outlets and local operation
Not ideal for: First-time smart plug buyers without a compatible hub or those looking to monitor several rooms affordably
- Outlets:2 individually controllable power outlets
- Connectivity:Matter, Thread
- Power monitoring:Yes
- Certification:UL-certified
- Privacy:No cloud dependency, registration, or tracking
- Minimum OS:iOS/iPadOS 16.4 or later; Android 8.1 or later
- Hub requirement:Compatible hub required for the selected smart home platform
Our verdict“Choose Eve for locally controlled, independently monitored outlets in a compatible hub setup; choose the Tapo P110M four-pack for more plug locations.”
TP-Link Tapo P115 Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 4-Pack
For buyers who want to track several appliances at once, the Tapo P115 four-pack puts the same 15A plug and energy charts in more locations than the two-pack. That makes it easier to compare loads around the home and schedule devices to run during off-peak hours. You also get Tapo app control, Alexa and Google Assistant support, configurable smart charging, and automatic overload shutoff. Compared with the Tapo Matter P110M four-pack, this P115 emphasizes the Tapo Wi-Fi app setup, while the P110M adds Matter compatibility across more named platforms. The P115’s tradeoff is its reliance on Wi-Fi and the Tapo app; its billing estimates also require integration with billing systems. Pick it when broad monitoring through Tapo is the priority, and skip it if Matter support is central to your setup.
Pros:- Four plugs let buyers monitor more appliances across the home
- Energy statistics and charts support device-by-device comparisons
- Offers Tapo app, voice, and scheduled control
- Includes automatic overload shutoff and configurable smart charging
Cons:- Remote control depends on Wi-Fi and the Tapo app
- Energy bill estimates require integration with billing systems
- Smart charging requires setting a low-battery limit
Best for: Households that want to monitor and schedule several appliances across rooms using the Tapo app and Alexa or Google Assistant
Not ideal for: Matter-first smart home owners who want compatibility with Apple HomeKit or Samsung SmartThings
- Model:P115
- Quantity:4 plugs
- Maximum current:15A
- Energy monitoring:Yes; statistics and charts
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Remote control:Tapo app
- Scheduling:Yes
- Power management:Configurable smart charging and automatic overload shutoff
Our verdict“Choose this four-pack to cover multiple rooms with Tapo energy charts and controls, or the P110M if Matter platform compatibility matters more.”
Tapo Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 4-Pack (P110M)
The Tapo P110M four-pack is the lineup’s clearest choice for buyers who want energy monitoring across several rooms and a named path into multiple smart home platforms. Matter support includes Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Alexa, and SmartThings, giving it broader listed platform compatibility than the Wi-Fi focused Tapo P115 four-pack. Energy tracking, schedules, app and voice control, and automatic shutoff thresholds make the plugs useful for both observation and routine power management. That threshold control can turn a monitored load into an automatic action when it reaches a chosen level and duration. The tradeoff is missing detail: the product data does not specify dimensions or wireless connectivity details, so buyers cannot judge fit or the radio setup from these specs. Bill cost views also need billing-system integration. Pick it for Matter-based coverage; skip it if physical clearances are a key part of your decision.
Pros:- Four-pack supports monitoring at several locations
- Matter compatibility lists Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, and SmartThings
- Provides energy tracking, app and voice control, and programmable schedules
- User-set power thresholds and durations can trigger automatic shutoff
Cons:- Product details do not specify plug dimensions
- Wireless connectivity details are not specified
- Energy bill cost visualization requires integration with billing systems
Best for: Households using Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Alexa, or SmartThings that want energy monitoring in several rooms
Not ideal for: Buyers who need confirmed plug dimensions or detailed wireless connectivity information before choosing
- Model:P110M
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Connectivity standard:Matter
- Energy monitoring:Yes
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Compatible platforms:Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Remote control:Tapo app
- Power management:User-set thresholds and durations for automatic shutoff
Our verdict“Choose the P110M for a four-plug energy monitoring setup spanning Matter-compatible platforms, provided the unspecified dimensions and wireless details do not affect your fit.”

How We Picked
I ranked these plugs around the job implied by the category: monitoring energy while giving buyers reliable control of appliances. I considered stated electrical capacity, available connectivity standards, monitoring features, setup demands, and whether the listed pack size suits one outlet or a wider rollout. I gave more weight to options that balance monitoring with compatibility and practical flexibility than to pack size alone.
The KP125M takes the top spot for its blend of 15A capacity and Matter support. Shelly follows for buyers who value multiple connection paths, while the Tapo P115 packs rank well for expanding coverage with familiar Wi-Fi control. Eve fills the premium-minded role, and the Govee, generic, and AiSeek packs offer alternatives for buyers prioritizing multiple outlets. Product listings do not establish comparative measurement accuracy or long-term reliability, so I do not treat those qualities as proven differences.
| smart plugs with energy monitoring | Energy monitoring | Voice assistants | Connectivity |
|---|---|---|---|
| Smart Plug Outlet with Energy | Real-time power and energy tracking | Alexa and Google Assistant | — |
| AiSeek Pro Energy Monitoring S | — | — | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Yes | Siri, Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and Samsung SmartThings | Matter over Wi-Fi |
| Shelly Smart Plug US Gen4 with | Real-time power monitoring | — | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, and Matter |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy M | — | Alexa and Google Assistant | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth |
| TP-Link Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi | Yes; statistics and charts | Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant | Wi-Fi |
| Eve Energy Outlet | — | — | Matter, Thread |
| TP-Link Tapo P115 Smart Plug w | Yes; statistics and charts | Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant | — |
| Tapo Matter Smart Plug with En | Yes | Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Smart Plugs With Energy Monitoring
Before choosing a plug, I would work backward from what you want the energy data to help you decide. The right choice depends on the appliance, your smart-home system, and whether you need to monitor one outlet or several. These broader checks can prevent a mismatch that a feature list alone may not reveal.
Match the Plug to the Appliance
Check the appliance label and the plug’s stated electrical limits before buying. A 15A rating is relevant for many household devices, but the number alone does not make every plug suitable for every load. Pay attention to the appliance’s power draw and any guidance from its manufacturer. High-draw equipment, motors, and heating appliances can have different requirements from lamps or small electronics. A common mistake is to assume that energy monitoring means the plug can safely control any device it can measure. When a load is near the plug’s limit or has unusual starting behavior, check the product documentation carefully and use an outlet solution specified for that job.
Check Smart-Home Compatibility Before Pack Size
Decide which app or smart-home platform you want to use before choosing a multipack. Matter can make cross-platform integration easier, while Wi-Fi, Zigbee, and Bluetooth support each come with different setup and network requirements. A plug with several protocols may offer flexibility, but it can add choices you do not need. Confirm that the exact model and its energy readings work with your intended platform; compatibility for basic on-and-off control does not always mean every monitoring feature appears there. This is especially useful if you want readings alongside other devices in one dashboard. Buying four plugs first and checking compatibility later can leave you with a larger setup problem than a single mismatched outlet.
Ask What the Energy Data Will Help You Change
Energy readings are most useful when they answer a specific question, such as whether standby draw is noticeable or how much an appliance uses during a cycle. Think about whether you want live power, accumulated energy, history, or alerts, and check which of those the product and its app provide. Do not assume all plugs display the same measurements or retain data for the same period. If you only need to identify a device’s typical consumption, a simpler display may be enough. For recurring comparisons, look for clear history and export options in the software. The practical value comes from readings you can interpret and act on, not from a monitoring label by itself.
Choose Pack Size Around Your Monitoring Plan
A multipack can make it easier to monitor several appliances, but only if those outlets are useful to compare or control. List the devices you want to track and check whether they sit near outlets with enough clearance for plug bodies. Larger packs can be convenient for a group of similar loads, such as entertainment equipment, yet they can also leave unused plugs if your plan changes. A two-pack offers a smaller commitment for testing an app or covering a pair of appliances. Compare the exact model name as well as the count: listings in this roundup include different Tapo P115 pack sizes and a separate Matter P110M model. That distinction helps avoid ordering a familiar brand name with the wrong connectivity or format.
Consider Network and Setup Constraints
Many Wi-Fi smart plugs rely on a 2.4 GHz network, so check your router and the setup instructions before purchase. Bluetooth or Zigbee support may provide another route, but those options can depend on a compatible hub or a particular commissioning process. Matter support can simplify how devices join a smart home, though it still depends on compatible controllers and apps. If the plug will be installed far from your router, signal strength can matter more than a longer list of protocols. Also consider who will maintain the setup if accounts, hubs, or network settings change. A straightforward plug can be the better fit when multiple connection paths would go unused.
Weigh Monitoring Needs Against Ongoing App Use
Energy monitoring often depends on an app or platform to show readings, so consider whether you are comfortable keeping that software in your routine. Check whether the data is easy to find and whether basic switching remains convenient when you do not want to inspect charts. Buyers who prefer local control or deeper integration may value products with more protocol options, while a household using one manufacturer’s app may prefer a simpler route. Software features can change, so review current documentation for data retention, account requirements, and supported integrations. Avoid paying for complexity solely because a spec list looks longer. Pick the level of control and reporting that you will actually use.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will an energy-monitoring smart plug tell me exactly what an appliance costs to run?
It can provide consumption data, but turning that into a cost estimate depends on the electricity rate you enter and how the app handles fees or changing rates. A flat rate may be enough for a rough comparison between devices, but it may not match a bill with time-based pricing or additional charges. Check whether the app lets you set a rate and whether it reports accumulated energy over the period you care about. Readings are most useful for comparing usage patterns rather than treating an app estimate as a final bill calculation. For a more accurate cost view, compare the reported energy with your utility’s rate details.
Does Matter support mean I can see energy readings in any smart-home app?
No. Matter can help devices work across compatible smart-home platforms, but the exact controls and energy data exposed can vary by plug, controller, and app. A platform may support basic switching while presenting monitoring data differently or not surfacing every detail. Before choosing a Matter plug, check current compatibility notes for the specific model and the app you plan to use. If energy readings are central to your decision, verify that feature explicitly rather than relying on the Matter label alone. The KP125M and P110M are distinct models, so confirm support for the one you intend to buy.
Should I buy a four-pack if I only want to monitor one appliance first?
A single appliance is a good reason to start with one plug or a smaller pack, particularly if you have not used the manufacturer’s app before. A four-pack makes more sense when you already know which additional devices you want to track and each outlet is suitable for a smart plug. Pack count does not show whether the plugs fit side by side or whether all outlets are reachable on your network. If you are comparing several appliances, using the same model and app can make the readings easier to review together. Otherwise, beginning with fewer units limits unused hardware if the workflow does not suit you.
Can I use these plugs with appliances that have motors or heating elements?
Do not decide from the 15A figure alone. Motor loads can draw more current at startup, and heating appliances can place sustained demands on a plug. Check both the plug’s full specifications and the appliance maker’s instructions for supported loads. Some appliances should not be switched remotely or through an add-on plug at all. If the ratings or intended use are unclear, choose a control device specifically approved for that appliance rather than guessing from the headline capacity. Energy monitoring does not change the plug’s electrical limits.
When is a multi-protocol plug worth choosing over a basic Wi-Fi model?
Multiple protocols can help when your home already uses a hub or when you want options for integrating devices across platforms. Shelly Gen4’s Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, and Matter support gives it more possible connection paths than a basic Wi-Fi plug. That breadth is useful only if your controller and intended setup support the features you plan to use. If you just want one plug in a compatible Wi-Fi app, extra protocols may add setup choices without changing your day-to-day use. Check whether the particular route you want also exposes energy readings.
Conclusion
I recommend the Kasa Matter KP125M as the best overall for buyers who want 15A capacity, monitoring, and Matter support in one pick. For value across several outlets, compare the Tapo P115 four-pack with the Govee four-pack and choose based on the app and ecosystem that suit your home. The Shelly Gen4 is my premium flexibility pick for people who will use its range of connection options, while the Eve Energy Outlet suits buyers seeking a more premium-oriented option. Beginners should favor the plug that matches an app and platform they already use, with the Tapo P115 as a practical starting point. For a simple multi-outlet Wi-Fi setup, the generic and AiSeek four-packs remain alternatives, but I would verify their compatibility and app details before choosing them over the named Matter options.
Fall yard work Picks
leaf blowers
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.












