Smart plugs with energy monitoring can show how much electricity an appliance uses while adding remote control and scheduling. I’d make the Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A/1800W, 2-Pack my best overall pick for its Matter support and clear two-plug starting point; the Emporia Whole-Home Energy Monitor Bundle stands out for broader household tracking, while the Minoston Z-Wave 800 Series suits Z-Wave homes. The main tradeoffs are whether you need Matter, Wi-Fi, or Z-Wave, and whether plug-level readings are enough or you want whole-home context. Multipacks can cover more outlets, but only help if their app and platform fit your setup. Continue reading for the full comparison and a guide to choosing by monitoring needs.
Get home appliances delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Kasa Matter 15A/1800W 2-Pack is my best overall choice for a straightforward Matter entry point; the four-pack version is better if you already know you want wider coverage.
- Emporia’s whole-home bundle combines 16 circuit sensors with four smart plugs, giving it a wider monitoring scope than any plug-only option here.
- Minoston Z-Wave 800 Series serves buyers with a Z-Wave hub, while the Matter models suit households building around newer cross-platform smart home systems.
- SONOFF S61s, Tapo P110M, Kasa, and several other picks come in four-packs, but bundled quantity matters less than matching the plugs to your ecosystem and intended appliances.
- Wi-Fi, Matter, and Z-Wave represent different setup choices: check the product and hub requirements before buying, especially if you expect monitoring data to appear in a particular app.
| SONOFF S61s Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Multi-Platform Homes | Pack count: 4 | Maximum load: 15 A; 1875 W | Operating voltage: 120 V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plugs, Wi-Fi, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Simple Alexa and Google Control | Pack size: 4 | Operating voltage: 120 V | Maximum continuous current: 10 A | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A/1800W, 2-Pack | ![]() | Best for Offline Local Control | Model: KP125MP2 | Pack size: 2 | Maximum current: 15 A | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Minoston Z-Wave 800 Series Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring | ![]() | Best for Z-Wave Networks | Model: MP21ZP (VER 8.0) | Protocol: Z-Wave 800 Series | Voltage: 125 V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Emporia Whole-Home Energy Monitor Bundle with 16 Sensors and 4 Smart Plugs | ![]() | Best for Whole-Home Energy Tracking | Included components: Energy monitor with 16 sensors; 4 Wi-Fi smart plugs | Circuit monitoring: Main panel and up to 16 individual circuits | Plug monitoring: Per-outlet energy tracking | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best Value for Group Control | Pack size: 4 plugs | Maximum load: 1800 W | Operating voltage: 120 V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A | ![]() | Best for Multi-Platform Homes | Model: P110M | Pack size: 4 plugs | Maximum load: 15 A / 1800 W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| SIXWGH Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A/1800W | ![]() | Best Single-Plug Pick | Pack size: 1 plug | Maximum current: 15 A | Maximum power: 1800 W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Local Control | Model: KP125MP4 | Pack size: 4 plugs | Maximum load: 15 A / 1800 W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A | ![]() | Best for Charging Routines | Model: P115 | Pack size: 4 plugs | Maximum load: 15 A / 1800 W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4 Pack | ![]() | Best for Long-Term Energy Tracking | Model: H5086 | Quantity: 4 smart plugs | Connectivity: Wi-Fi and Bluetooth; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| smart plugs with energy monitoring | Connectivity | Operating voltage | Pack size | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SONOFF S61s Matter Smart Plug | Matter over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 120 V | — | 2 years |
| Emporia Energy Monitoring Smar | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 120 V | 4 | 1 year |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Matter over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 120 V | 2 | 2-year limited |
| Minoston Z-Wave 800 Series Sma | — | — | — | 2 years |
| Emporia Whole-Home Energy Moni | — | — | — | — |
| AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 120 V | 4 plugs | 2 years |
| Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plug w | Matter, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | — | 4 plugs | — |
| SIXWGH Matter Smart Plug with | Matter, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Bluetooth-assisted pairing | 125 V | 1 plug | — |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Matter, Wi-Fi, SmartThings; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 120 V | 4 plugs | 2-year limited |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 110 V AC | 4 plugs | — |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy M | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only | — | — | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
SONOFF S61s Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 4-Pack
The SONOFF S61s four-pack pairs per-plug energy and cost tracking with Matter support across Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings. That makes it a flexible choice when a household uses more than one smart home platform or may change platforms later. Compared with the Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plugs, each SONOFF plug supports a higher stated load, up to 15 A, and adds Matter compatibility; Emporia is limited to 10 A continuous and works with Alexa and Google Assistant. The tradeoff is that SONOFF still needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and its IP20 rating offers limited dust and moisture protection. Choose it for indoor appliances you want to track and automate across ecosystems, but skip it for damp or dusty locations.
Pros:- Matter support spans Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings.
- Tracks real-time energy use and electricity costs.
- 15 A maximum load with overload protection.
- Four plugs support schedules, remote control, and automation without a hub.
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection.
- IP20 rating provides limited protection from dust and moisture.
Best for: Households using Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings that want four individually monitored indoor outlets.
Not ideal for: Anyone placing plugs in damp, dusty, or outdoor areas, or whose Wi-Fi setup does not support 2.4 GHz.
- Pack count:4
- Maximum load:15 A; 1875 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:Matter over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, eWeLink
- Energy monitoring:Real-time usage and electricity cost tracking
- Protection:Overload protection; fire-resistant housing
- Dimensions:2.36 × 1.5 × 2.13 inches
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Choose the SONOFF S61s if you want four energy-monitoring plugs that can work across several Matter-compatible smart home platforms.”
Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plugs, Wi-Fi, 4-Pack
The Emporia four-pack suits buyers who want per-device energy monitoring alongside familiar app, voice, and physical-button control. Its push button gives household members a way to switch an appliance without opening an app, while scheduling and remote access cover routine automation. Compared with the SONOFF S61s, Emporia offers fewer listed smart home platforms and lacks Matter, but the direct button control may matter more in a home centered on Alexa or Google Assistant. The key capacity tradeoff is its 10 A continuous limit, despite a 15 A peak allowance for up to an hour per day; that makes appliance load checks important. It also requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and carries a one-year warranty. Pick it for lighter-duty devices, not higher continuous loads.
Pros:- Monitors energy use for connected devices.
- Offers app, remote, voice, scheduling, and push-button control.
- Works with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant.
- ETL and FCC certifications are listed.
Cons:- Continuous current is limited to 10 A.
- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and does not support 5 GHz.
- One-year warranty is shorter than the two-year coverage listed for SONOFF and Kasa.
Best for: Alexa or Google Assistant households that want four monitored outlets with app, voice, schedule, and physical-button control.
Not ideal for: People monitoring appliances that draw more than 10 A continuously, or homes that rely on Matter or 5 GHz Wi-Fi.
- Pack size:4
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Maximum continuous current:10 A
- Maximum peak current:15 A for up to 1 hour per day
- Wattage:1200 W
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Control methods:App, remote, touch, voice, push button
- Compatible assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Choose Emporia for straightforward energy tracking and multiple control methods on lighter-duty Alexa or Google devices.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A/1800W, 2-Pack
The Kasa Matter two-pack stands out for a practical fallback: local network control can continue when the internet is offline. That helps keep scheduled or nearby smart home control available during an internet interruption, while energy monitoring shows how connected devices use power over time. Compared with the four-plug SONOFF S61s pack, Kasa gives you fewer outlets, but it also specifies local control and a compact design intended to avoid blocking an adjacent socket. Both offer Matter and a 15 A class load, so the choice comes down to outlet count and the offline-control detail. Kasa still depends on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and the stated 1800 W maximum leaves little room to exceed typical 120 V, 15 A limits. It is best for a few important devices rather than outfitting many rooms.
Pros:- Matter compatibility spans Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings.
- Local network control can continue when internet access is unavailable.
- Energy monitoring tracks power use over time.
- Compact design helps avoid blocking adjacent outlets.
Cons:- The pack includes only two plugs.
- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.
- Maximum load is 15 A and 1800 W.
Best for: Smart home users who want energy tracking for a couple of devices and local control during internet outages.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need four or more plugs in one purchase, or whose network lacks 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.
- Model:KP125MP2
- Pack size:2
- Maximum current:15 A
- Maximum power:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:Matter over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Safety:UL certified flame-retardant design
- Warranty:2-year limited
Our verdict“Choose the Kasa two-pack if offline local control and compact outlets matter more than getting four plugs at once.”
Minoston Z-Wave 800 Series Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring
The Minoston Z-Wave 800 Series plug is the specialist option here: it adds energy monitoring to a Z-Wave setup and can act as a network repeater. S2 security and SmartStart pairing suit buyers who already manage devices through a compatible hub. Compared with the Wi-Fi-based Kasa Matter plug, Minoston depends on a separately sold hub and does not offer direct Matter setup; in return, it joins an existing Z-Wave network instead of adding another Wi-Fi device. Its listed 15 A capacity is useful for compatible indoor appliances, while Long Range coverage depends on hub support. Alexa and Google Assistant control also requires that hub. Skip this if you want a plug that works straight from Wi-Fi, since the hub requirement adds setup and compatibility constraints.
Pros:- Energy monitoring, timers, schedules, and remote control through a compatible hub.
- Built-in repeater can extend Z-Wave network coverage.
- S2 authenticated security and SmartStart pairing.
- 15 A rating and two-year warranty.
Cons:- Requires a separately sold compatible Z-Wave hub.
- Long Range coverage depends on hub support.
- Alexa and Google Assistant control requires a hub.
Best for: People with a compatible Z-Wave hub who want per-plug energy monitoring and better Z-Wave coverage.
Not ideal for: Buyers without a Z-Wave hub, or those seeking direct Wi-Fi or Matter pairing without extra equipment.
- Model:MP21ZP (VER 8.0)
- Protocol:Z-Wave 800 Series
- Voltage:125 V
- Amperage:15 A
- Security:S2 authenticated
- Features:Energy monitoring, repeater, SmartStart, timers, schedules
- Hub requirement:Compatible Z-Wave hub required; sold separately
- Voice assistants:Alexa and Google Assistant through a hub
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Choose Minoston when you already have a compatible Z-Wave hub and want energy monitoring plus repeater coverage in the same plug.”
Emporia Whole-Home Energy Monitor Bundle with 16 Sensors and 4 Smart Plugs
The Emporia bundle goes beyond outlet-level monitoring: its Vue monitor tracks the main panel and up to 16 individual circuits, alongside four smart plugs that report per-outlet use. That combination can help buyers compare a single appliance with larger household loads and, for solar homes, monitor net metering. The SONOFF S61s is easier to frame as a set of smart outlets, but it does not provide this stated circuit-level view. Emporia’s app also brings usage trends, automations, and notifications together. The tradeoff is a more involved installation than adding a plug, and the product data does not specify electrical panel requirements. It also stores usage data in the cloud. This is the broadest monitoring scope in the lineup, but it makes sense only if you want panel and circuit data as well as smart plugs.
Pros:- Monitors the main panel and up to 16 individual circuits.
- Includes four smart plugs with per-outlet energy tracking.
- App provides usage trends, automations, and notifications.
- Supports solar net metering.
Cons:- Usage data is stored in the cloud.
- Installation requirements and supported electrical panel types are not specified in the product data.
Best for: Homeowners seeking main-panel and circuit-level electricity data, with four monitored outlets and solar net-metering support.
Not ideal for: Renters or buyers who only need plug-level tracking, or anyone unwilling to use cloud-stored usage data.
- Included components:Energy monitor with 16 sensors; 4 Wi-Fi smart plugs
- Circuit monitoring:Main panel and up to 16 individual circuits
- Plug monitoring:Per-outlet energy tracking
- App compatibility:iOS and Android
- Smart home compatibility:Alexa
- Solar support:Solar net metering
- App features:Usage trends, automations, notifications
- Data storage:Cloud
Our verdict“Choose the Emporia bundle if you want to compare whole-home, circuit, and individual outlet electricity use in one system.”
AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 4-Pack
The AiSeek 4-pack suits buyers who want to monitor several appliances and control them together. Its real-time energy tracking, schedules, timers, and group control cover everyday monitoring and automation without requiring a Matter setup. Compared with the Tapo P110M, AiSeek offers a simpler SmartLife-based setup, while Tapo adds Matter support and stated bill estimates across more platforms. AiSeek’s compact plugs and overload and short-circuit protection help with routine household use, but compatibility depends on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and Alexa or Google Assistant requires linking through SmartLife. Choose this set if monitoring multiple devices in one app matters more than broad smart-home integration; skip it if you want Matter or a more direct platform setup.
Pros:- Tracks real-time power and energy use
- Group control, schedules, and timers support coordinated automation
- Compact dimensions help preserve access to nearby outlets
- Short-circuit and overload protection are specified
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network
- Alexa and Google Assistant need linking through the SmartLife app
Best for: Households that want to track several appliances and switch them together through SmartLife
Not ideal for: Matter-focused smart-home owners or users whose network only supports 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum load:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- App:SmartLife
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Dimensions:1.4 x 2.8 x 2 inches
- Safety:FCC certified; short-circuit and overload protection
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Choose AiSeek for multi-device monitoring and group control in SmartLife if Matter compatibility is not a priority.”
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A
The Tapo P110M is a strong fit when energy tracking needs to work across different smart-home platforms. Matter and Wi-Fi support give it compatibility with Apple HomeKit, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings, while its usage statistics and bill estimates turn monitoring into a way to spot energy costs. Compared with the AiSeek Smart Plug, the Tapo offers broader stated ecosystem support and bill estimates; AiSeek includes specified short-circuit protection and a two-year warranty. Tapo’s configurable power limits and overcharge protection add control, and its compact design is intended to leave adjacent outlets usable. The tradeoff is the familiar 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi requirement and a 15 A, 1800 W ceiling, so it is not suited to higher-draw equipment.
Pros:- Matter support spans several major smart-home platforms
- Energy statistics include bill estimates
- Configurable power limits and overcharge protection
- Compact design is made to leave neighboring outlets accessible
Cons:- Wi-Fi connection is limited to 2.4 GHz
- Maximum capacity is 15 A and 1800 W
Best for: Households using a mix of Apple HomeKit, Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings that want energy statistics and bill estimates
Not ideal for: People with 5 GHz-only Wi-Fi or appliances that exceed the 15 A, 1800 W rating
- Model:P110M
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum load:15 A / 1800 W
- Connectivity:Matter, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Compatible platforms:Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Energy tracking:Usage statistics and bill estimates
- Control:App, voice, scheduling
- Certification:UL certified
Our verdict“Pick the Tapo P110M if cross-platform Matter support and bill estimates matter more than a specified two-year warranty.”
SIXWGH Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A/1800W
The SIXWGH Matter Smart Plug is the single-plug option for buyers who want to add energy tracking to one appliance before outfitting more outlets. It supports Matter across major ecosystems and shows real-time power draw and usage history through Smart Life, with schedules and several timer modes for simple automation. Unlike the four-plug Kasa KP125MP4 or Tapo P110M, this listing includes one plug, making it a more targeted choice for a specific device. Bluetooth-assisted pairing may help with setup, but ongoing connectivity still relies on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. Its overload protection and 15 A/1800 W rating cover typical household loads; the stated IP00 rating means there is no stated ingress protection, so it is a poor match for damp or exposed locations.
Pros:- Matter compatibility covers several major ecosystems
- Smart Life provides real-time power draw and usage history
- Schedules, countdown, cycle, and random timers support varied routines
- Overload protection and a 15 A/1800 W rating are specified
Cons:- Listing includes only one plug
- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for operation
- IP00 rating indicates no stated ingress protection
Best for: Smart-home owners who want to monitor one appliance and use Matter with Alexa, Apple Home, Google Home, or SmartThings
Not ideal for: Buyers outfitting several outlets at once or anyone needing a plug for a damp or exposed area
- Pack size:1 plug
- Maximum current:15 A
- Maximum power:1800 W
- Operating voltage:125 V
- Connectivity:Matter, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Bluetooth-assisted pairing
- Energy monitoring:Real-time power and usage history via Smart Life (Tuya)
- Compatible ecosystems:Alexa, Apple Home, Google Home, SmartThings, Siri
Our verdict“Choose SIXWGH to add Matter-enabled energy monitoring to one indoor appliance, not to equip multiple outlets in one purchase.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack
The Kasa KP125MP4 stands out for buyers who want a multi-plug set with Matter and local network control. That local control can keep compatible smart-home routines available when the internet is offline, while energy monitoring helps track consumption over time. Compared with the Tapo P110M, Kasa specifically lists local control during an internet outage; Tapo lists bill estimates and configurable power limits. Both target broad platform compatibility, compact placement, and 15 A/1800 W household loads. Kasa’s flame-retardant design and two-year limited warranty add practical details, but the listing does not spell out a monitoring app or energy reporting format. It also depends on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, so check network compatibility before choosing this set.
Pros:- Monitors energy use over time
- Matter support works with Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings
- Local network control is specified for internet outages
- Compact, flame-retardant design helps preserve nearby outlet access
Cons:- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Maximum rating is 15 A and 1800 W
- Energy monitoring detail is less specific than Tapo P110M’s stated statistics and bill estimates
Best for: Smart-home households that want four monitored outlets and local compatible control during internet outages
Not ideal for: Buyers who need stated bill estimates or detailed energy-reporting features before choosing
- Model:KP125MP4
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum load:15 A / 1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:Matter, Wi-Fi, SmartThings; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Local control:Supported on the local network when internet is offline
- Warranty:2-year limited
Our verdict“Choose Kasa if local control during internet outages matters more to you than detailed, specified energy reports.”
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A
The Tapo P115 fits households that want energy charts alongside routines for devices that should stop charging automatically. Its smart charging shutoff, scheduling, and overload protection make it more focused on managing plugged-in equipment than the basic remote and group controls listed for the AiSeek Smart Plug. Energy statistics and charts give owners a way to follow usage over time, while Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings support voice control. Tapo’s compact design is intended to keep a second outlet available, and the four-pack suits buyers monitoring several devices. The main compromise is that it uses 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and carries a 15 A/1800 W ceiling; the listing also does not specify Matter compatibility, unlike the Tapo P110M.
Pros:- Energy statistics and charts support usage tracking
- Smart charging shutoff adds a specific charging control
- Scheduling, remote control, and voice control are supported
- ETL, FCC, and RoHS certifications are listed
Cons:- Works with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
- Maximum load is 15 A and 1800 W
- Matter compatibility is not specified, unlike the Tapo P110M
Best for: Households that want to track several devices and automate charging shutoff through Tapo
Not ideal for: Matter-first buyers or people with 5 GHz-only Wi-Fi or higher-draw appliances
- Model:P115
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum load:15 A / 1800 W
- Operating voltage:110 V AC
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Compatible assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartThings
- Control:Tapo app, voice control, scheduling
- Certifications:ETL, FCC, RoHS
Our verdict“Pick the Tapo P115 for charted energy use and charging shutoff routines if Matter support is not a requirement.”
Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4 Pack
The Govee four-pack suits buyers who want to follow an appliance’s energy use over time: its app records power, current, and voltage, with daily through yearly history. That longer record gives it a tracking advantage over plugs whose supplied details do not specify a year of data. You also get schedules, remote control, and group control without adding a hub, plus Alexa and Google Assistant support. Compared with the Tapo P110M, Govee uses Wi-Fi and Bluetooth rather than Matter, so it may be less appealing if you want Matter-based smart-home integration. Its key setup constraint is 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only; households relying on 5 GHz alone will need a compatible network. This pick makes the most sense when app-based energy history matters more than Matter support.
Pros:- Tracks power, current, and voltage in the Govee Home app.
- Stores energy data for daily, weekly, monthly, and up to one year.
- Four plugs support scheduling, remote control, and group control without a hub.
- Works with Alexa and Google Assistant.
Cons:- Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi.
- Uses Wi-Fi and Bluetooth rather than the Matter connectivity offered by options such as the Tapo P110M.
Best for: Households that want year-long appliance energy history across several devices and already have a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.
Not ideal for: Matter-focused smart-home users or households whose available Wi-Fi is limited to 5 GHz.
- Model:H5086
- Quantity:4 smart plugs
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
- Energy monitoring:Power, current, and voltage
- Energy history:Daily, weekly, monthly, and up to 1 year
- Voice assistants:Alexa and Google Assistant
- Hub required:No
- Certifications:CA65, ETL, FCC, SDOC
Our verdict“Choose Govee if you want long-term energy records across four plugs and can use 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.”

How We Picked
I ranked these picks around what changes the buying decision for a plug with energy monitoring: the scope of the readings, smart home compatibility, outlet capacity, setup needs, and the usefulness of the pack size. A plug that reports individual appliance use is a different tool from a bundle that adds circuit sensors for household-level context, so the Emporia bundle earns a distinct role rather than competing as an ordinary multipack. I gave Matter models an edge for buyers seeking a common smart home standard, while keeping the Z-Wave option visible for homes already built around that system.
My ordering favors options that offer a practical mix of monitoring and everyday control, then separates picks by ecosystem, bundle size, or broader monitoring needs. I also account for tradeoffs: a four-pack may be poor value if only one outlet needs tracking, and a hub-based plug adds setup requirements that a Wi-Fi buyer may not want. The product names and stated specifications establish the available choices, but details such as app reporting depth, measurement accuracy, and current platform support should be checked against the manufacturer before purchase.
| smart plugs with energy monitoring | Model |
|---|---|
| SONOFF S61s Matter Smart Plug | — |
| Emporia Energy Monitoring Smar | — |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | KP125MP2 |
| Minoston Z-Wave 800 Series Sma | MP21ZP (VER 8.0) |
| Emporia Whole-Home Energy Moni | — |
| AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy | — |
| Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plug w | P110M |
| SIXWGH Matter Smart Plug with | — |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | KP125MP4 |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit | P115 |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy M | H5086 |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Smart Plugs With Energy Monitoring
Before choosing a multipack, decide what you want the energy data to help you do. Tracking a single appliance, finding standby loads, and understanding whole-home usage call for different levels of monitoring and different setup choices.
Choose the level of energy visibility you need
Plug-level monitoring ties a reading to one connected appliance, which makes it useful for comparing devices or spotting whether a particular load runs often. It cannot show how all circuits in a home contribute to the utility bill, so avoid treating a plug reading as a full household energy picture. If you want that broader view, look for a system that adds circuit sensors, such as the Emporia bundle in this roundup. Before buying, check whether its reporting separates live power, accumulated energy, and historical trends in a way you can use. A basic live reading may answer “is this on?” while a history view is more useful for identifying recurring consumption. Match the monitoring scope to the decision you plan to make.
Match the plug to your smart home system
Matter, Wi-Fi, and Z-Wave involve different setup paths, even when the plugs have a similar purpose. Matter can be a sensible fit for a household using compatible platforms, but confirm that the specific monitoring data is exposed in the app you plan to use. Z-Wave options typically belong in homes with a compatible hub, so include that requirement in your setup plan. Wi-Fi models may avoid a separate hub, though they depend on the product’s app and network support. A common mistake is checking only whether a plug can turn on and off through a platform, then assuming its energy readings will appear there too. Verify both control and monitoring compatibility before choosing.
Check the appliance load and outlet fit
A plug’s stated electrical limit is a boundary, not a recommendation to connect any appliance that fits the outlet. Compare the appliance’s rated load with the plug’s specifications, and follow the manufacturer’s guidance for motors, heaters, and other high-draw devices. Also consider the plug body: a wide housing can block a neighboring outlet on a crowded power strip or wall plate. The 15A models in this roundup share a stated capacity, but that does not make every use case identical or suitable. If you plan to monitor several appliances, check each one individually instead of assuming the same plug choice works for all. When in doubt, use an outlet and monitoring product rated for the intended load.
Buy the number of plugs you will actually use
Multipacks can make sense when several appliances need separate readings, since each plug measures its own connected load. They add little value if the other plugs will sit unused or if you really want one aggregate view instead. List the appliances you want to monitor and decide whether individual readings would change your choices. Leave room for future needs only when those needs are plausible, such as tracking seasonal devices or comparing two similar appliances. A two-pack can be a lower-commitment way to start, while four-packs suit households with several clear targets. Check whether all plugs in a bundle use the same model and features before ordering.
Look at data access before relying on measurements
Energy monitoring is useful only if the readings are easy to find and interpret. Check whether the app offers live power, energy totals over time, and export or history features if you intend to compare usage across days or billing periods. Also look for how the product handles network outages and whether local control remains available. A reading from one appliance can help identify patterns, but it may not align exactly with a utility bill because of timing, measurement differences, or other household loads. Avoid assuming that every compatible smart home platform will show detailed history simply because it supports basic plug control. Choose the data presentation that fits the habit you expect to maintain.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will a Matter smart plug show energy data in every Matter-compatible app?
Not necessarily. Matter compatibility can support smart home control, but the energy monitoring features exposed by a particular plug and the app can vary. Check the plug maker’s compatibility notes and the platform’s current support for energy readings. If monitoring history is a key reason for buying, confirm that the app can show the type of data you need rather than relying on an on/off control demo. This check can prevent choosing a plug that works in your home but leaves its main monitoring feature hard to access.
Should I choose plug-level monitoring or a whole-home monitor?
Choose plug-level monitoring when you want to isolate the usage of a few specific appliances. Choose a whole-home or circuit-monitoring system when you need to see how multiple circuits contribute to household use. The Emporia bundle in this roundup pairs plugs with circuit sensors, while the other picks focus on individual outlets. These approaches answer different questions, so one is not automatically a replacement for the other. If you are diagnosing a particular appliance, a plug may be enough; if you are looking for household patterns, broader monitoring can offer more context.
Do I need a hub for an energy-monitoring smart plug?
That depends on the model and the connection system. The Minoston pick uses Z-Wave and generally calls for a compatible Z-Wave controller, while Wi-Fi plugs connect through a wireless network and Matter models require a compatible Matter setup. A hub can be worthwhile if it already serves as the center of your smart home, but it adds equipment and configuration if you do not own one. Check the full setup requirements, including whether an additional Matter controller or bridge is needed for your chosen platform. Factor in the monitoring app as well as basic plug control.
Can I use a 15A smart plug with a space heater or other high-draw appliance?
Do not decide from the 15A label alone. Compare the appliance’s rated load with the plug’s full specifications and follow both manufacturers’ instructions, especially for heaters, motors, and devices that run for long periods. The stated 15A capacity does not confirm that every high-draw appliance is an approved use. Also consider outlet condition, ventilation, and whether the device will share a circuit with other loads. If the intended appliance is not clearly supported, choose a monitoring solution rated for that use or ask the manufacturer.
Is a four-pack the right choice if I only want to monitor one appliance?
Usually, a four-pack makes the most sense when you already have several appliances to track or expect to add them soon. Each plug can give you a separate reading, but unused units do not expand your view of the appliance that is already connected. This roundup includes a Kasa Matter two-pack for buyers who want a smaller starting set, alongside several four-packs for wider coverage. Before choosing a bundle, map out the outlets and devices you plan to monitor. That also helps you check plug spacing and whether your network or hub can support the planned setup.
Conclusion
For a flexible starting point, I recommend the Kasa Matter 15A/1800W 2-Pack as best overall; it combines energy monitoring with Matter support in a smaller bundle. The AiSeek four-pack is my best value-style pick for buyers who want several Wi-Fi plugs, while the Emporia Whole-Home Energy Monitor Bundle is the best premium choice for people who want circuit-level context alongside plug readings. Beginners should start with the Kasa two-pack if their smart home platform supports its monitoring features and they want to try a couple of appliances. For a Z-Wave setup, choose Minoston; for broad plug coverage in a Matter household, compare the Tapo P110M, SONOFF S61s, and Kasa four-pack by their app and platform fit. Pick the system that answers your energy question, then buy only as many plugs as you can put to work.














