TL;DR
Get home appliances delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Apple’s HomeView comes in two $299 versions: a tabletop display with a speaker base and a wall-mounted model that needs a separate mount. The choice is permanent, and the wall option can add mount, adapter or electrician costs. Apple lists three wall mounts priced from $59.95 to $129.95.
Apple’s HomeView smart display is offered in two $299 versions—a tabletop model with a speaker base and a wall-mounted model that requires a separate mount—so buyers must choose their setup before purchasing. A CNET report says the tabletop version adds stronger audio and simpler installation, while the wall-mounted option can bring extra hardware costs and, for some installations, a licensed electrician.
Both models have a 7-inch Liquid Retina display and are designed to handle entertainment, smart-home controls and home security monitoring. CNET says both support face recognition for personalized accounts, along with Messages, FaceTime, Calendar, Reminders, Find My and Siri AI. The publication reports the two versions cost the same, and that buyers cannot add a speaker base to the wall-mounted model later or convert the tabletop model into a wall-mounted one.
The tabletop HomeView includes a speaker base with down-firing woofers, two passive radiators and two full-range drivers, as well as tilting and adjustment. CNET’s reviewer described the audio during a demonstration as loud, with deep sound. Setup requires a standard power adapter and USB-C cable, making this version less dependent on permanent installation and potentially more practical for renters.
For wall mounting, Apple offers three Schneider Home options, according to the report. The $59.95 USB-C Wall Connector includes a mount and attached cable, but requires a separate 20-watt adapter and leaves a visible cable. The $79.95 AC Wired mount sends power through the wall and is designed to sit flush; Apple recommends a licensed electrician for installation. The $129.95 PoE Wired mount uses an Ethernet run for both power and a wired network connection, and requires a compatible power-over-Ethernet switch.
How the Mount Changes the Cost
The model decision affects more than where the display sits. Although each HomeView costs $299, the wall-mounted setup adds the price of a mount and may add a power adapter or professional labor. A buyer choosing the AC Wired option, for example, should account for electrician installation as well as the $79.95 mount; the source does not provide a labor estimate.
The trade-off is between audio and flexibility on the tabletop model and a more integrated fixed display on the wall. CNET describes the wall-mounted version as better suited to a dashboard, calendar or security-control role, where quick access to smart-home widgets may matter more than stronger sound. The PoE option may appeal to households with existing Ethernet infrastructure that want a direct network connection, though the source does not establish that wired internet is necessary for HomeView to operate.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Two Fixed HomeView Configurations
The report frames HomeView as a central screen for smart-home management and other household functions, rather than simply a display that can be moved between a stand and a wall. It specifically cautions that the tabletop screen is attached to its speaker base, despite a misconception in some launch coverage that it is detachable. The two configurations are separate purchase choices, not interchangeable accessories.
The article says HomeView was available for preorder ahead of a Nov. 13 release, but the source material does not state the year. The mount guidance comes from CNET’s report, which also quotes Michael Malfettone, owner of Malfettone Electric and a licensed master electrician. His comments describe the installation trade-offs; they are not Apple’s product specifications.
“For most homeowners, I’d go with the AC Wired mount.”
— Michael Malfettone, owner of Malfettone Electric and licensed master electrician, quoted by CNET
Installation and Service Details Pending
The source does not give a price range for electrician labor, so the total cost of a hardwired installation remains unclear. It also says Apple had not immediately provided details about the ADT installation service associated with the PoE mount, including whether it is an Apple partnership or a service customers can book directly through ADT.
The report does not specify the year of the stated Nov. 13 release or provide further detail on compatibility, regional availability or how HomeView’s functions depend on particular smart-home devices. Those points should not be assumed from the listed features alone.
Check Costs Before Preordering
Before ordering, buyers should decide whether they value the tabletop model’s speaker base and easy setup or want a fixed wall dashboard, then confirm the required mount, power supply and installation plan. Anyone considering AC hardwiring should follow Apple’s recommendation to use a licensed electrician; the PoE setup also depends on compatible network equipment and an Ethernet run.
Further details on the ADT service and electrician costs would help establish the full price of wall installation. Until those are available, the listed mount prices are only part of the likely total for some buyers.
Key Questions
Do both Apple HomeView models cost $299?
Yes. The CNET report lists both the tabletop and wall-mounted HomeView at $299. The wall-mounted version requires a separately priced mount.
Can I add a speaker base to the wall-mounted model later?
According to the report, no. The tabletop display is attached to its speaker base, and the two HomeView versions are separate configurations rather than models that can be converted later.
Which wall mount is the least expensive?
The USB-C Wall Connector is listed at $59.95. It includes a mount and attached USB-C cable, but requires a separate 20-watt power adapter and leaves the cable visible.
Does the AC Wired mount require an electrician?
Apple recommends that a licensed electrician install the $79.95 AC Wired mount, which runs power through the wall and is designed to sit flush. The source does not state installation labor costs.
What does the PoE mount need?
The $129.95 PoE Wired mount needs an Ethernet run to the mount and a compatible power-over-Ethernet network switch. It carries power and a wired network connection over the same cable.
Source: rss
Cold & flu season Picks
humidifiers
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
